Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Waiting On: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
To be published: March 17, 2015 by Dial
Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be. [goodreads]

When a book is compared to Sarah Dessen or Huntley Fitzpatrick, my interest is definitely peaked.  I have yet to read a YA contemporary set in the political arena, so this could be refreshingly different.  I'm curious if the writing will leave me with the same sense of pure love for YA contemporary as Dessen and Fitzpatrick do, though.  This one is definitely on the TBR for 2015!

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


  1. Awesome pick! I am definitely adding this to my TBR list. I agree…anytime a blurb compares the novel to a Dessen or Fitzpatrick book, I'm intrigued!

  2. This cover is eye-catching and I agree about association - sold on the Fitzpatrick comparison (:

  3. This sounds really good. I hope you enjoy reading it.
    My WoW

  4. I'm excited for this one too! The cover is gorgeous, and if it's anywhere near Huntley Fitzpatrick's level of writing, I'm sure I'll be pleased. :)

  5. Love the sound of this one! And that cover is so pretty!

  6. Yes! Looking forward to this one too! Great author comparisons always make me take notice


Hello Readers! Once you've typed up that comment that I oh so appreciate, please click "notify me" in the bottom right corner so that you don't miss my reply! Thanks, xo.

Site Design by Designer Blogs