Monday, May 1, 2017

Such a Ginger Read: Purple Hearts by Tess Wakefield


Where I read a book and then label it as "Such a Ginger Read" because, well, it is such a Ginger read. To see my first edition post of this new feature, please click here.


Published: April 25, 2017 by Atria Books
Source: ARC from publisher
When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes.

Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives

Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one... [goodreads]

This is the type of novel that will stay with you, long after you've finished that last page. These characters will pop up in your mind, and you'll find yourself wondering what they're up to... how they're doing... whatever became of their story.  It's been about a month since I read this book, and yet here I am, still living inside its pages.

With this novel set in Austin, TX and a dab of the eclectic music scene sprinkled in, it hints at a Ginger Read.  But it's the emotional pull and the unexpected depth of its words that solidifies itself as Such a Ginger Read. I may be a Texas girl who loves her music, but I'm also a passionate reader who appreciates stories that make you feel way beyond just the words.

Cassie and Luke are complete opposites, destined to remain opposites just for convenience.  They are like oil and water when mixed together, a constant turmoil of tension and barriers.  What should have been an easy (yet dangerous) arrangement, spirals into an unexpected predicament that lands them as husband and wife, playing house. When Luke is discharged from the Army due to medical issues, Cassie finds herself tending to a complete stranger.  It was in these moments that their true colors shined, even as dark and dreary it had become.  I found myself rooting for their survival, for their individuality, but also for their commitment.  Their struggles felt real, authentic, and oh so heart breaking.

Purple Hearts is every bit real and tangible.  It's a story you can't walk away from, yet you're breaking into pieces the deeper you read.  My only objection is that I wanted more.  More of Cassie. More of Luke. More of their lives intertwined together. It's a slow burn, a sizzle, a spark, a big gush of wind threatening to blow you away. This novel is not one to miss for it's every bit Such a Ginger Read.

1 comment:

  1. WHAT. Um how am I just now hearing about this book?? It has my name written all over it! This one is going straight to my TBR list (and my library request list!!) :) Thanks, Ginger!

    ReplyDelete

Hello Readers! Once you've typed up that comment that I oh so appreciate, please click "notify me" in the bottom right corner so that you don't miss my reply! Thanks, xo.

 
Site Design by Designer Blogs