Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Waiting On: Five Summers by Una LaMarche

Five Summers by Una LaMarche
To be published: May 16, 2013 by Razorbill
Five Summers
Four best friends, five summers of camp memories

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring . . .
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth . . .
The summer we were eleven : Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle . . .
The summer we were twelve : Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar . . .

Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable . . . and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart. Three years after the fateful last night of camp, the four of us are coming back to camp for reunion weekend—and for a second chance.

Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Anne Brashares and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters. [goodreads]

I never did the camp thing growing up, but always wished I had. I love everything about summer books, and this contemp sounds like it's something I'd really enjoy. Definitely looking forward to this one come summertime!

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


  1. Yesterday, Virginia was cold and rainy and yucky. This book would have been just perfect to get me out of the dreary state that always comes with crummy weather. Beyond that, I /cannot/ wait for this book! : )

  2. I went to camp in 4th grade and busted my lip and gave another girl a concussion. I think I need to replace my camp memories with fake romantic ones.

  3. Me too! Can't wait to read this one during the summertime. Great pick!

  4. This one looks really good, I can't wait to read it...fantastic choice!

    Bree :)
    WoW on Coffee Bean Bookshelf

  5. I only went to camp once and it was an all girls camp so not cute boys to flirt with there but I do love summer books so definitely adding this one to my list. It sounds great! =D

  6. Summer camp! Sounds like a great contemp - awesome pick! :)

    Here's my WoW

  7. Summer camp!! I never did camp either growing up but I love reading it about it.

  8. I never went to camp either. :( But I think summer books are amazing! I had this one my Waiting on Wednesday post a few weeks back. I'm really looking forward to getting this one.

  9. I never went to summer camp either. This book sounds really good! Thanks for sharing.
    My WoW

  10. YESSSSSS, please! Can't wait for this one. Summer book? CHECK.

  11. I never did the camp thing either BUT I WISH I DID! Good thing there are books to vicariously live through. It sounds perfect for summer.


Hello Readers! Once you've typed up that comment that I oh so appreciate, please click "notify me" in the bottom right corner so that you don't miss my reply! Thanks, xo.

Site Design by Designer Blogs